Not daydreaming…

So, in true AA style – My name is Alex, and I have Dissociative Identity Disorder. Yes, I’d never heard of it either, I was 16, and they were big words. Of course, you have the internet at your finger tips, so if you want a head start, by all means Google away, if not, bare with me and I’ll try and explain. Maybe I could use examples from the media, Fight Club, Sybil, The three faces of Eve –  Well, it’s nothing like that, not really.

Let’s use the Mind definition to start off…

“This is the most complex dissociative disorder. It is also known as multiple personality disorder (MPD). This has led some to see it as a personality disorder, although it is not. The defining feature is severe change in identity. If you experience DID, you may experience the shifts of identity as separate personalities. Each identity may be in control of your behaviour and thoughts at different times. Each has a distinctive pattern of thinking and relating to the world. If you also have very severe amnesia, it may mean that one identity may have no awareness of what happens when another identity is in control. The amnesia can be one-way or two-way. Identity confusion is usually moderate to severe. DID also includes severe depersonalisation and derealisation.”

9. There’s 9 of us. 4 main ones. and 5 that just sort of, hang around in the background. I’m going to focus the blog around the 4 of us, yes, I’m aware I used ‘us’ – Personal pronouns are the bane of my life.  It’s not cool, it’s not fun, not for me. It’s fucking debilitating, it kills me, every second of every day. I’m at war with myself, and we’re all losing.

Not daydreaming…

Leave a comment